Edge Seasons: A Memoir

Alfred A. Knopf, 2005 - 232 páginas
From the bestselling, critically acclaimed author of The Hatbox Letters and Shadow Child comes the story of a year of transformation.
In the middle years of her life, Beth Powning stands on a threshold: an "edge season." Late one August, when Beth and her partner, Peter, observe the deserted sauna bath on their farm near Sussex, New Brunswick, she remembers the faith and energy that went into building it. As they begin to repair the sauna, the project becomes a metaphor for how dreams, relationships and commitments need to be continuously renewed. While their only child, Jake, prepares to leave for university, Beth and Peter contemplate changes of their own.
As fall and winter gradually shut down the vibrant life of the gardens, fields and forests near her home, Beth witnesses the beauty and regenerative force of the natural world, weaving acutely observed descriptions of the countryside with the story of her own intimate transformation. Edge Seasons is an intensely absorbing journey that illuminates how change can shatter even as it strengthens.

Comentarios de la gente - Escribir un comentario

LibraryThing Review

Crítica de los usuarios  - oldblack - www.librarything.com

I like Beth Powning's work a lot. I suppose that's partly because we're of similar age, class and culture, but more than that, I think she has a similar outlook to me on how to best live life . . . or ... Leer comentario completo

Otras ediciones - Ver todas

Acerca del autor (2005)

Beth Powning grew up in a small New England town, where her family has lived since the 1790s. In 1972, she and her husband Peter Powning moved to Canada and bought an 1870s farm in New Brunswick, where they established a pottery business.

In 1995, Beth Powning published a book of photography, "Roses for Canadian Gardens" (written by childhood friend Bob Osborne). She later found her voice in "Home: Chronicle of a North Country Life". Over the next fifteen yaers, five books followed: another book of photographs, "Northern Trees and Shrubs"; two works of non-fiction, "Shadow Child" and "Edge Seasons"; and two bestselling novels, "The Hatbox Letters" and "The Sea Captain's Wife".

Información bibliográfica